Skip to content

So What is the Chakra System?

You have probably come across the word Chakra many times before, especially within Spiritual and healing disciplines, and within the world of holistic medicine. But for most of us, do not really understand or even know what they fully are or even what their purpose is.

Over the next few weeks I will explain in turn what each of the Chakra’s does and how they relate to you and your physical body. The word Chakra is a Sanskrit meaning for ‘Wheel or Vortex’, a powerhouse of energy. The Chakra system refers to the seven major energy centres situated within the midline of the body for which our consciousness and energy systems are composed, (though there are many minor chakra’s throughout the body)

These centres function as a valve or pump, which regulate the flow of energy through our own energy system. The functioning of the Chakras reflects how we choose to respond to situations within our lives. These valves open and close when we decide what we think and how we feel.     Chakras are not physical but are aspects of our consciousness, in the same way as the aura is an aspect of our consciousness. They interact with our physical bodies through two major systems,

  1. The endocrine system – which is composed of ductless glands which produce hormones that are the bodies chemical messengers.
  2. The Nervous system – which is the body’s communication and instruction network, and is composed of the brain, spinal cord and nerves. (If you like we can say it’s like the wiring of a house).

Each of the seven Chakras is associated with one of the seven endocrine glands and also with a group of nerves called a ‘Plexus’. So each Chakra can be associated with particular parts of the body and particular functions within the body, which is controlled by that plexus or endocrine gland associated with that Chakra. endocrine   All of your senses, perceptions and all of your possible states of awareness, everything that is possible for you to experience can be divided into seven categories. Each category is associated with a Chakra, so the Chakras in effect represent not only particular parts of your physical body, but also parts of your consciousness.

When you feel tension in your consciousness you feel it in your Chakra associated with that part of your consciousness experiencing the stress, and in parts of the physical body associated with that Chakra. Where you feel the stress depends upon WHY you feel the stress. The tension in the Chakra is detected by the nerves of the plexus associated with that charka. When that tension continues over a period of time, or to a level of intensity, the person then creates symptoms in their physical body. The symptom speaks a language which reflects the idea that we create our own reality.

The symptom served is to communicate to the person through their body what they have been doing to themselves in their consciousness. When that person then changes something about their way of being, but recognising the message communicated by the symptom, then the symptom has no further reason for being, so can then be released and healed.

Next Time: We will be looking a little more in depth about each chakra, starting with the mainly unrecognised Foot Chakra.


  1. Amanda on October 26, 2014 at 10:06 am

    Hi Dawn, thank you for sharing this… a great introduction can’t wait to read the rest of your blogs!

  2. Ruthie on February 26, 2016 at 9:45 pm

    Excellent clear explanation. Love it x

Leave a Comment

Join Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

Please enter your name.
Please enter a valid email address.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.
Scroll To Top